Dystopian Utopia – Thumbnails (part 2)

It’s taken me a good amount of time to complete this task and I think it was extremely challenging for me, both in a good way and not – I’m glad I’ve had the practice with a pencil and paper again, but I think coming up with so many unique designs was stressful (to say the least). I understand the necessity to just let the ideas flow and not get stuck on a singular concept, but at the same time it’s easy to start repeating themes throughout the vehicles.

I tried to diversify the vehicle uses, ranging from military to civilian. Some are ground-based and will just appear shabby or shambled together. Others are stream-lined and incorporate some type of futuristic hovering/thruster mechanisms. Overall, I came up with 20 designs, as per the written project outline, but I’m not entirely happy with some of the details – that’s where the group criticism will come in extremely handy, since it’ll let me narrow down my ideas and perhaps come up with something worth taking forward to final design.

20170118_230600

The writing is a bit difficult to see, however I have annotated key parts to each of the designs. I thought this would be useful for the group crit and for my own decision-making later down the line, once I’ve had some distance from the drawings. There are multiple vehicles on this page that I quite like; it was the first batch of drawings I drew earlier in the day, when my hand/eyes still felt fresh.

20170118_230618

I’m not too happy with two of the designs on this page: the top left one and the bottom left one are just not drawn right. I still have issues with perspective and getting depth down right in order to portray the right idea. However, also on this page are my favourite vehicles: the portable charging landing pad and the train locomotive. There are some stranger ideas on this page, since I was looking at some of Alex Andreev’s work again which heavily features hot air balloons and blimps.

20170118_230634

I think my designs were starting to become a bit mind-numbing at this point… but I still really like the medic vehicle and the military flyer (in the bottom left). I’m not so keen on the proportions of the fire truck, although I like the concept that the barrel is fully visible on the back of it with the giant water canon on the front. Meanwhile, I think the worst design is the civilian vehicle (middle-left of the page) with three wheels. It doesn’t work quite the way I had in my mind.

After all this, I’m just pleased to have accomplished making up this many drawings. I don’t think they’re… professional, by any means. Yet, as concept thumbnails, I think they get their point across so I can develop one of them into a 3D model!

Leave a Reply

